My Favorite Color

For my entire life, my favorite color has always been purple; for as long as I can remember, I have been the purple sister. That’s because I didn’t like pink or blue, like my little sister. But recently, I have come upon a new favorite color: sunset. When you look at a sunset, it’s not just one color—that’s what I love about it. How every sunset is different and paints the sky with new colors every night at dusk.

Cape Cod sunsets, especially the Brewster Flats’ sunsets, are breathtaking. The Expressions Gallery does a fantastic job capturing some of these Cape Cod sunsets. Here are 8 Spots of Catch Dramatic Cape Cod Sunsets. My favorite thing about summers down the Cape is ending the days with a sunset. When I was little, I would walk to get ice cream with my cousins or ride my bike with my sister and sister and then go watch the sunset. My camera roll is filled with pictures of sunsets and here are some of them.

Sunset on the Brewster Flats over Memorial Day Weekend

For Memorial and Labor Day, my family goes down to the Cape with our family friends. Every year, without fail, we always catch a sunset. The picture above is from this past Memorial Day Weekend. I would categorize it as a more basic sunset. Don’t get me wrong, it’s amazing but with my experience as a sunset watcher, I have seen much more interesting ones like the ones shown below.

Sunset on Ellis Landing over February Break

Over February Break, I was amazed to see a sunset like the one above during the off-season. It was cloudy but I was able to catch a glimpse of the sunset after the sun had set. One of my favorite things is watching the sunset in the winter because it reminds me of summer. It was a little glimpse of summer.

Sunset in Summer ’22 in Harwich

Last summer, I was in Harwich one night with some friends and when we went outside we saw the sunset above. Now this is one of the more intriguing sunsets I mentioned above. You can see that the sun was setting over the clouds, which adds a texture like cotton candy. On top of that, the colors were so vivid, mostly warm colors. It looked like it went on forever.

Sunset over the Flats Summer ’22

I have never seen a sunset like the one above. My mom, sister, and I went to the beach that night to watch the sunset, but when we arrived it was cloudy and mellow. But, as avid sunset lovers, we decided to stay to see if we might be able to catch a part of it. I’m so glad that I did. It was a one-of-a-kind sunset. I have never seen one like it. The sky was still kinda cloudy, but a stripe of neon pink covered the horizon.

Whenever I need a break, I look out my window at the sunset when I can’t get to the beach. I don’t know what it is about sunsets, but they always relax me and take my mind off the stress and remind me of summer. Hopefully, I will be able to travel and see amazing sunsets across the world. I will never get to see enough sunsets in my life. 

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Color

  1. I love how you corralled your memories here, Mackenzie: through colors. And can we talk about those gorgeous pics? These colors are, as you said, breathtaking. That’s the only word for them! Thanks for taking us along with you to the Cape this year!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started