The Ice Cream Smuggler

The Ice Cream Smuggler is a fan favorite among my cousins’ grandparents, but not us. Passing it going to the Creamery, we always thought why are these people waiting in such a long line for ice cream. Was is it really that good? So, we decided to give it a shot.

The Ice Cream Smuggler began in 1979 in Denis and there have been three generations of owners since. With their world-famous hot fudge sundae being on the Food Network’s The Best Thing I Ever Ate, the Smuggler became a very popular destination in Cape Cod for ice cream. They offer multiple types of ice cream cakes and pies along with 27 homemade flavors of ice cream, 4 frozen yogurt options, and some sherberts and sorbets. The Smuggler is located at 1555 Route6A, East Denis, 02660 and they are open from 2 pm to 9 pm on Monday through Friday and 12 pm to 9:30 pm on Saturday and Sunday as of right now.

https://www.instagram.com/icecreamsmuggler/

My cousins’ grandparents love this ice cream place and go almost daily, so my cousins, sister, and I went to go try it out for ourselves. The one time I went was over Labor Day weekend two years ago. Of course, it was super busy because of the long weekend. My sister, cousins, and I waited in line for 15 minutes for this amazing ice cream that we had heard of. I got Grasshopper, which is mint ice cream with Oreos and fudge. I had got it someplace else and I thought it would be similar. But, when I tried the flavor, it couldn’t be compared to where I had gotten it before.

I asked some of my friends and family to write their reviews of the different ice cream flavors they’ve gotten at the Smuggler, so here they are.

My little sister, as expected, got Oreo because she gets it pretty much everywhere we go since they took it off the menu at our original ice cream place we go to. Not only did she get Oreo ice cream, but she also got rainbow sprinkles on top. The ice cream being Oreo, she gave it five out of five stars.

One of my older cousins got Mocha Chip, which is coffee ice cream with chocolate chips in it. She said “I did like the flavor. It was the perfect mix of two great things: coffee and chocolate!” Going on Labor Day weekend did end up us waiting in line, so she gave the service three out of five stars.

My other older cousin got Grasshopper, the same as me. She liked this flavor, but not as much as another place she had gotten it. Four out of five stars are what she rated the service since it was very busy.

I would recommend this ice cream place, but it’s not a favorite with my sister, cousins, and me. If you’re ever in Denis, you should stop by the Ice Cream Smuggler to get a frozen treat.

12 thoughts on “The Ice Cream Smuggler

  1. Awesome job Mackenzie! I love how you give the address, the time it opens and closes, as well as what I should expect on the menu. Giving your reviews really help me decide whether or not I want to try the place or not. Keep up the good work!

    Like

  2. I loved hearing your family’s reviews as well as your opinion. This was such a fun post to read and now I really want some ice cream!

    Like

  3. That picture of all the ice cream cones look so good! Im drooling! This post with all of your other ones really make me want to drive up and go try some ice cream!

    Like

  4. Okay, first of all, I need to remember to stop reading your blog posts when I’m hungry. That ice cream looks. so. good. Secondly, I love that your family members weighed in on the review. (We have an Oreo fiend in our casa, too.) I’ve never tried Grasshopper, but it sounds delish! Thanks for the review–and for the cravings…

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started